Week #4 and #5: Media and Memory

I can remember when I was younger sitting in the back gray leather seat of my dads red SUV. Content in my own little world. Dad always playing the same CD, 1, a compilation of Beatles songs. “Love Me Do” playing in the background as I stared throughout the window, seeing but not understanding. Cars and scenery passing by as the sun shone bright from above while Ringo’s rhythmic beat and John’s time-full singing lying in the air, and drifting off to sleep.

Other times in the back seat I remember singing along to 1. Of course I knew all the words. I loved being able to sing along as the sun beat down on to my skin. The words forever cemented into my brain, “It’s been a hard days night.”

Thinking back on those childhood memories that’s probably the reason I like the Beatles so much; they bring me back to that time when there was nothing to worry about. Nowadays I don’t listen to those songs as much but when I can they always cheer me up or make me feel relaxed, even Maxwell’s Silver Hammer. Maybe it’s true, the more times you listen to a song the more you like, but there’s something just so nonchalant about there songs that I can’t help but like there music. It is because of that time in the SUV listening to them that I learned the importance of appreciating the little things, be it a Beatles songs or sunshine.

3 thoughts on “Week #4 and #5: Media and Memory

  1. As I see this, I can remember doing an adapted version of a Shakespeare with these songs when I was little. Like you, I also like listening to the Beatles.
    Good Post!

  2. Lots of great word choice and imagery: “Sitting in the gray leather seat of my dad’s red SUV,”, “seeing but not understanding,”, “The words forever cemented in my brain.”

  3. I like that you take your time with the opening image, letting us settle in to the scene much like you would settle in to the car for a long ride. The CD player is going, and the Beatles music carries us through as we read this excellent post.

    Well done!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *